Discover the world with our lifehacks

When was the last local government election NSW?

When was the last local government election NSW?

NSW Local Council elections held on 9 September 2017.

Who was in NSW government in 2011?

Keneally government (4 December 2009 – 26 March 2011) Kristina Keneally was sworn in as the 42nd (and first female) premier of New South Wales on 4 December 2009. Keneally and her deputy, Carmel Tebbutt, were the first two-woman parliamentary leadership team in Australian history.

Is NSW run by liberal or Labour?

New South Wales is currently governed by the Liberal Party. The two main parties are the Liberal Party/National Party Coalition, and the Labor Party.

How often are NSW local council elections?

Local government elections are held in NSW on the second Saturday in September every four years*. At local government elections voters in each local government area elect councillors to their local council.

Is it compulsory to vote in council elections NSW?

The penalty for not voting in New South Wales is a $55 fine. You must respond within 28 days of the issue date of the notice. Apparent failure to vote notices for the 2021 Local Government elections will be distributed in early March 2022.

How long has NSW had a Liberal government?

In the 74 years since its foundation the party has won eight state elections to the Labor Party’s 13, and has spent 27 years in office (1965 to 1976, 1988 to 1995 and 2011 to the present) to Labor’s 46.

Who was in government 2016 Australia?

Turnbull won the vote 54–44 and on 15 September was sworn in as prime minister, starting the Turnbull government.

Who won the 2013 election Australia?

The centre-right Liberal/National Coalition opposition led by Opposition leader Tony Abbott of the Liberal Party of Australia and Coalition partner the National Party of Australia, led by Warren Truss, defeated the incumbent centre-left Labor Party government of Prime Minister Kevin Rudd by an 18-seat 3.6 percentage …

Can I be fined for not registering to vote?

You can register to vote if you are 16 years of age and over but you will not be able to vote until you’re 18. It is a criminal offence to refuse to complete the registration form or to give false information, carrying a fine of up to £1,000.

When was Labor last in power in Australia?

The ALP then won the 1993 federal election. It was in power for five terms over 13 years, until severely defeated by John Howard at the 1996 federal election.

Who was the best prime minister of Australia?

Alfred Deakin was a unanimous choice as Australia’s best prime minister, winning full votes from each selector; Robert Menzies also appeared on every “best” list. No one prime minister appeared on all six “worst” lists, although William McMahon appeared on five and James Scullin on four.