Discover the world with our lifehacks

How long does it take to evict a tenant in Washington?

How long does it take to evict a tenant in Washington?

Evictions in Washington State generally take around three weeks from start to finish, but this can vary. There are many variables that impact the length of time the eviction process will take. Below is a sample timeline for eviction due to non-payment of rent.

How does the eviction process work in Washington state?

Washington laws dictate that a tenant has 3-5 days to move out of the property depending on the reason for eviction. If the tenant is being evicted for failure to pay timely rent, they have 5 days to move out upon posting of the Writ of Restitution. For all other reasons, the tenant has 3 days only to move out.

When can a landlord evict a tenant in Washington state?

Landlord can give the remaining tenants a 30-days’ notice to vacate or a 30-days’ notice to apply as a tenant. If the tenants receive a notice to apply and fail to apply within the 30-day time period, the landlord can proceed to an eviction without further notice.

What is the fastest way to evict a tenant in Washington state?

How to Evict a Tenant in Washington State

  1. Give a Three-Day Notice.
  2. Obtain an Order to Show Cause.
  3. Eviction Complaint and Summons.
  4. Optional Registry Notice.
  5. Serving the Tenant.
  6. Attending the Court Hearing.
  7. Removing the Tenant’s Property.

What a landlord Cannot do in Washington state?

A landlord may not terminate a tenancy or increase rent or change other terms of the rental agreement to retaliate against a tenant who asserts his or her rights under the Landlord-Tenant Act or reports violations of housing codes or ordinances.

How long is the eviction moratorium in Washington state?

Feb. 11, 2022, at 3:46 p.m. SEATTLE (AP) — Seattle’s eviction moratorium implemented nearly two years ago due to the coronavirus pandemic will be extended through the end of February and then not renewed.

Can you evict a tenant without a lease in Washington State?

Eviction Process for No Lease / End of Lease In the state of Washington, if tenants “holdover,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Did Washington eviction moratorium end?

On Feb. 28, Seattle’s COVID-19 residential and commercial eviction moratorium ended. Landlords can, once again, serve their tenants eviction notices for nonpayment of rent, but renters facing eviction still have several city- and state-mandated protections to help them stay in their homes.

How long does an eviction order take?

The process eviction literally can take anywhere between 14 days to 6-8 months, typically. I know, not the most useful answer! But the reality of how long an eviction will take is dependent on the circumstances; mostly what it boils down to is how wilful your tenant is.