Can you evict someone right now in Virginia?
Virginia renters have special protection against evictions until June 30, 2022. Landlords cannot evict tenants for non-payment of rent (because of COVID hardships) unless they follow these rules: The landlord must give the renter a 14-day notice that informs the renter about the Rent Relief Program.
Can a landlord evict you without a court order in Virginia?
A landlord must file an eviction lawsuit, also called an unlawful detainer suit, and receive a court order before physically evicting a tenant. Before filing the eviction lawsuit, the landlord must give notice to the tenant. The type of notice required depends on the reason for the lawsuit.
How do I remove someone from my house in Virginia?
The first step is to provide them with a 30 day notice to vacate. Hopefully, they leave voluntary before this 30 day period expires. If they are still living in the home at the end of that 30 day period, an Unlawful Detainer action can be filed against them in the local General District Court.
How long do you legally have to give someone to move out in Virginia?
A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days as required by Virginia law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end. (The rental agreement may provide for a different notice period.)
What are your rights as a tenant without a lease in Virginia?
NOTE: Under Virginia law, if you do not have a lease, and you do not pay rent, you are considered a “tenant at sufferance.” This means you can be evicted for any reason at all, at any time, and no notice needs to be given to you. Under this circumstance you can go from “tenant” to “trespasser” very quickly.
Can I be kicked out of my house in Virginia?
Yes, you can kick someone out of your house in Virginia. If the person does not have a lease, and has never paid rent, you can remove them from your home at any time without prior notice. You may still be required to follow the legal eviction process, however.
How do I evict a month to month tenant in Virginia?
The landlord or the tenant may terminate a month-to-month tenancy by serving a written notice on the other at least 30 days prior to the next rent due date, unless the rental agreement provides for a different notice period. The landlord and the tenant may agree in writing to an early termination of a rental agreement.
Can you be evicted without a Section 21?
You’ll be able to challenge your eviction and stay in your home. You don’t have to sign a section 21 notice to prove you’ve received it – even if your landlord asks you to. Your landlord could give you a section 8 notice as well as a section 21 notice.